Beans Greens & Grains

healthy vegan eats

Sesame Kale Chips

1 Comment

Life has been a little CRAZY as of late, hence the 7 weeks that have swiftly elapsed since my last post. In all honesty I haven’t made any new recipes since then. It’s just been the same old vegetarian chili for 49 days, minus those where I’ve been away in Barbados, D.C., and Mexico. Having, alas, drained my vacation time for the next 8 years, you can expect an appreciable number of recipes to surface on this blog in the foreseeable future.

Figured I would take it easy my first day back in the kitchen, so as not to injure myself of course. Seeing as you can make kale chips without the use of a knife, they were an obvious choice for my rusty hands. Also, travelling can suck the health right out of you, so what better way to replenish it than with nutritional powerhouse of almighty kale!

Typically I wouldn’t speak proudly of eating an entire bowl of chips, but when they are made from kale and not from potato or tortilla, then I want to get on top of my soapbox (honestly, where would you even get one of these?) and preach the miracle properties of kale: MORE IRON than BEEF, MORE CALCIUM than MILK!

Sesame Kale Chips

Sesame Kale Chips

Serves 2 generously

Ingredients

  • 1 bunch kale, stems removed and chopped
  • 2 tbsp sesame seeds
  • 1 tbsp sesame oil
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well.
  3. Spread kale over large cookie sheets and bake until crispy, but now brown.
  4. Remove from oven and enjoy immediately!

Nutritional Information

Makes 2 servings. Per serving:

226 calories – 25 g carbs – 9 g protein – 13 g fat – 6 g fibre

Author: Andrea

28 year old aspiring sustainable real estate developer and health nut

One thought on “Sesame Kale Chips

  1. I wish I could eat kale at every meal… is that bad? Also thanks for the reminder that I can make these myself, in the oven!

Leave a comment